neilmed sinus rinse

I am frequently afflicted with sinus infections. I can’t even count how many I’ve had in the past year. My nurse practitioner highly encouraged me to start using a sinus rinsing kit. I have been resisting this practice for YEARS. Sinus rinsing was something I just did not want to try! 3 sinus illnesses within a month changed my mind. Here’s what I’ve found after rinsing my sinuses for 2 days:

1) I can breathe! My nasal passages aren’t nearly as congested.

2) Rinsing is not painful. I was afraid it would feel like I was drowning in a chlorine pool, but it’s not bad at all!

3) I feel better. I’m not sure if this is because of the sinus rinse or the fact that my sinus issue is healing?

I think the kit is definitely worth the $10, especially if it keeps me out of the doctor’s office for a while. Have you tried a sinus rinse?  What are your thoughts?

*Please follow the manufacturer’s directions THOROUGHLY before using this product!  I am not offering any medical advice on this blog.  Contact your health care provider with any health questions/concerns you may have.  Please ask your primary care provider if it is okay for you to use the neil med sinus products )  A very wise blogger brought this important npr.org article to my attention. *


18 Comments on “neilmed sinus rinse”

  1. My wife is a very bad sinus suffer too. She has been using this product for several years now. In fact, she starts almost each day off with a rinse. She has similar comments as yours. Its not been the cure for her but saves a lot on medication.

    Now if you want a picture for discussion or “worth a 1000 words” have someone take your picture of this process! And post it. I would do it be I am too afraid I would drown.

  2. patsquared2 says:

    I use a neti pot but….just recently learned that you really better NOT use tap water. You have to use sterile water. A couple of people in the south died when a rare bacteria in their water actually traveled into their brains. http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2011/12/19/143960631/second-neti-pot-death-from-amoeba-prompts-tap-water-warning May try a sinus rinse that is controlled. But oh I love the effect the neti pot has and the colds/germs it has washed away.

  3. Nicole says:

    Definitely distilled water!

    I think it’s easier to use the squirt bottle (and and ENT friend of mine give this, instead of the Neti-pot, to his patients) AND I think it’s easier to use it while in the shower.

  4. After reading about the brain-eating amoebas, I think I’ll just live with the allergies. And I may never swim in a lake again, either. Chlorine sounds good, lots of chlorine . . .

  5. natashafield says:

    I looked at this product a couple of weeks back when I have a cold, but decided to go with Sterimar. It’s distilled sea water so natural and is easy to use with no awkward tilting. I now swear by it! It’s simply awesome stuff and works like a charm.

  6. ihavetriedit says:

    I just looked up sterimar (http://www.sterimar.com/en/nasal-family-solutions.php) This looks like a good solution for those afraid to use neilmed, although you can only use it for “a short period of time.” I’m not sure it would help prevent sinus infections/allergies…just help relieve them. Maybe, I’ll try it the next time I’m sick.

  7. This is one of the best inventions! I use it once or twice a day. I have had two sinus surgeries and this will hopefully help me hold off from another one for many more years! I’m glad you’re using it and I hope you continue to see improvement with it.

  8. Monica says:

    Thanks for the heads up re: tap water, I’ll use distilled from now on! I wound up with a wheat intolerance after my last bout with sinus infections and 2 rounds of antibiotics – I think the infection/ antibiotics triggered the intolerance but who knows. I now work hard to stay well, and rinse whenever I feel weirdly tired, swollen lymph modes, or sniffly. Its worked really well so far (3 yrs)…

  9. My pediatrician told us to use a sinus rinse with my five-year-old daughter. NeilMed makes a kids version that won’t put to much pressure on their sinuses. http://shop.neilmed.com/s.nl/it.A/id.122/.f

  10. Joanne says:

    The NeilMed saved me from a severe 3 week long nasal infection that I thought would never end. It took 2.5 days and it was over. Thank god!


Leave a comment