Recipes That SAVE Time and Money

When I first started researching different ways to save money, I came across blogs dedicated solely to grocery shopping. People document how they only spend $25/family member a week. Others gave up meat or couponed like crazy. I’m glad I read these posts, because I gleaned some money-saving tips from them. I’m definitely not going to become vegetarian, but cutting some meat out of my diet has saved me a significant amount on groceries. I have not become an expert couponer, but I still learned how to find the lowest priced item. My motto is-Eat LESS meat, and more beans and rice. Use left-overs in different recipes. All that being said, I have cut $100 out of my monthly grocery budget.

Here a some links to recipes that have helped me accomplish this.

Crock Pot Rotisserie Style Chicken

I made this recipe last night. My husband gave it a 9 out of 10. It took about 7 minutes to prepare because I chose not to skin the chicken. I decided to let the diner do that for themselves. So, the Crock-Pot ends up doing all of the work.

Also, I always have left-overs when making a whole chicken. So, I substituted the pork in the chili recipe with the remaining bird pieces. My very wise sister also informed me that the chicken juice left in the crock-pot after the bird is cooked is officially called “chicken stock.” The chili recipe also calls for chicken stock. I consider this a win-win situation. Not only did I not have to cook more meat for my chili, I didn’t have to BUY chicken stock.

1)Winter White Chili

2)Chicken Salad with Grapes

The following recipe is a bean dish that is super easy. My husband and I could eat this every day of the week. It’s that yummy! I’ve made it with and without chicken. I’ve added a bunch of spinach leaves and tomatoes and called it a salad. It’s pretty versatile.

Rice Salad with Chicken and Beans

More money/time-saving recipes to come. Enjoy!

*This blog reflects the opinion of the author. Please understand that all information or opinions gleaned from this blog are done so at your OWN risk*

2 Comments on “Recipes That SAVE Time and Money”

  1. […] Replace half of your meat serving with dried beans simmered with fresh peppers. (Save money.) […]

  2. […] Replace half of your meat serving with dried beans simmered with fresh peppers. (Save money.) […]


Leave a Reply

