Homemade Chewy Granola Bars

Due to lack of employment after our big move to NJ, I started looking up do-it-yourself recipes that could help save cash. I decided I wanted to try to make granola bars. Here are a couple of links to get you started.

Healthy Chewy Granola Bars

Chewy Granola Bars

I have found that there are a million different recipe’s out there. I’m pretty sure a chimpanzee could bake them. They are that easy! I cut my bars and store them in sandwich bags. My hubby then enjoys them at work. I’m not sure how much money this will save you, but I’m pretty sure they taste BETTER. Plus, they aren’t processed. If you want to save MORE money, skimp on the extra’s like chocolate chips, dried fruit, ect.

This is the recipe that I have used in the past. It’s pretty basic.

Chewy Granola Bars
4.5 cups of rolled oats (I often substitute one cup of rolled for steel cut)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
2/3 cup butter softened
1/2 cup honey
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
a handful or two of chocolate chips
a handful of golden raisins
a bit of coconut
(I like to improvise if you can’t tell)
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease a 9×13 in pan.

2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the oats, flour, baking soda, butter or margarine, honey and brown sugar. Stir in the 2 cups of assorted chocolate. chips, raisins ect.

3. Lightly press mixture into the prepared pan. Bake at 325 degrees F. for 18-22 minutes. Make sure it looks golden brown before removing from oven. Cool for 10 minutes. Cut into bars. Make sure the bars are cool before removing or serving.

*This blog reflects the opinion of the author. Please understand that all information or opinions gleaned from this blog are done so at your OWN risk*

3 Comments on “Homemade Chewy Granola Bars”

  1. Dube says:

    OK, I’m glad I found this blog! I’ve been looking for a good granola recipe and am really big on saving money right now (just graduated law school and am broke broke broke!) I’ll have to visit more often.

  2. ihavetriedit says:

    Well, glad you stopped in. I love this recipe. It’s almost TOO good. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and supper.

  3. veghotpot says:

    I’ve just printed your recipe off to make this weekend 🙂 My husband loves cereal bars but when I do the food shop I squeak abit as I think the price goes up every week! Cant wait to try these out AND I have all of those ingredients in the cupboard including coconut so its perfect! Thanks x


Leave a Reply

