Make Your Own Accent Throw Pillows

I believe in being thankful, but the past 3 years I struggled to like my living room furniture. I was tired of looking at mis-matched pillows my husband had accumulated before we met. So, I begged my mom for help. We went hunting for fabric and decided we could re-upholster 2 chairs and 5 pillows for about $45. I jumped at the chance. Now I have a living room that forever reminds me of my mom. We spent a lot of time working on it! Plus, I saved a ton of money by NOT buying pre-made pillows or chairs.

Don’t know how to sew a pillow? Go HERE

*This blog reflects the opinion of the author. Please understand that all information or opinions gleaned from this blog are done so at your OWN risk*

7 Comments on “Make Your Own Accent Throw Pillows”

  1. I’m a huge making things from scratch person… however I’ve never really sewn. My Big Sis is the needlework sibling and I’m the cook. The cushions look beautiful, seriously I should give it a go, I have an idea for a bag I’d like to try out but lack of confidence is holding me back!

  2. ihavetriedit says:

    i must admit that my pillows would not look as good without my mom’s help! Try the bag, though. You’ll learn from it. Maybe your needlework sibling could help you?

  3. Army Amy says:

    I like the fabric on the pillows in picture! Pretty!*

  4. Aurea Pruitt says:

    greatful for the write up

  5. I love this one. And for the sewing impaired: Stitch Witchery. Ask at your cut goods store. If you can iron, you do not need to know how to sew!

    • ihavetriedit says:

      I’ve never heard of Stitch Witchery? Sounds like a product I’d use when my mom isn’t around to help me!

      • It is a fusible web. It comes in 1/2 inch width on a roll. Great for hemming and repairs.

        Cut it into strips and place between the fabrics you want to join. Iron. Done.

        I do not suggest it for very fine silks, unless you know how to press them without puckering. I suggest doubling the width for heavier or textured fabrics, like tweeds.


Leave a Reply

