Owning A Pet and Saving Money


We have a dog named “Maddie.” She’s pictured above and is actually sitting on my lap as I type. Maddie is 9 years old. Last time I went to the vet they commented that “her eyes looked old.” I wanted to reply “Well, your eyes look old, too!” This is how protective I am of my little furry daughter pet.

We received Maddie 2 years ago. We instantly discovered there are many costs associated with pet ownership. The vet cleaned her teeth for $300. Yikes. She needs to be groomed regularly (this is $80 a pop). I’m trying to come up with ways to save in these departments.

I can’t say Ihavetried these options yet, but I am GOING to:

1) Brush her teeth regularly. Maddie will NOT chew any bones that supposedly clean her incisors.

2) Groom her myself. She has been skittish for 3 days since we took her to the groomer, anyway. I’ll save loads if I just trim her coat on my own…she may not look as cute, though:)

3) Buy better dog food. I was feeding her Beneful. Then I looked at the ingredients. According to my unprofessional opinion, Beneful equals chicken flavored corn chips. Who could stay healthy on a diet of corn chips? Unhealthy=’s more trips to that expensive vet that tells me my dog’s eyes look old. Thus, I’m in the process of switching her to Nutro

Remember that your pet provides you with countless hours of entertainment. I’m pretty sure Maddie has saved us from countless mall trips, restaurants and other black holes that eat money!

*This blog reflects the opinion of the author. Please understand that all information or opinions gleaned from this blog are done so at your OWN risk*

3 Comments on “Owning A Pet and Saving Money”

  1. This post needs a LOVE button. I have a menagerie, many are rescues from owners who did not know the value of proper nutrition. Only thing I would add is this: Get to know the owner of the feed store. Buying from megamarts may look cheaper, but in the long run, you pay more than you save at the vet and limit the length of your pet’s life.

    Fabulous post!

  2. ihavetriedit says:

    Thank you for thinking my post needs a “love” button! I checked out your blog. 10 children and a menagerie of pets! wow!

  3. Seashell says:

    We feed our baby girl Nutro. She loves it! I like the fact that it doesn’t have fillers and is so good for her.


Leave a Reply

