Thoughts On Making Gifts

I wish I were really good at making presents. I could save a lot of money this Christmas! It’s true, you will save money when making a gift. Just ask yourself a few questions before you embark on this project.

1) Will you actually finish the gift? Answer this question honestly!

2) Will the receiver really appreciate all your work?

3) Would YOU want to receive the gift you are making?

If you answer “yes” then, by all means, make your gifts! There’s just a couple of points I’d like to make clear.

1) >Sometimes it takes TIME for people to REALLY appreciate all of your hard work. I received the blanket pictured above when I was 12. My grandma made it for me. I liked it then, but I did not really appreciate it until much later in life.

2) Sometimes it takes TIME for people to get a clue. My maid-of-honor hand-wrote a ton of recipes for me when I got married. She also sewed an 2 aprons! It took me 3 years to really LOVE these gift due to the fact my husband did all of the cooking in our home. Things have recently changed. Now that I’m in the kitchen, I’m continually donning my apron and looking through my recipes.

3) Sometimes people will ask you how you made your gift
My sister soldered some mini-frames and inserted a few of my wedding pictures into them. She then attached ribbon so I could hang them on our Christmas tree. I am continually bugging and asking her to teach me how she did this!

*This blog reflects the opinion of the author. Please understand that all information or opinions gleaned from this blog are done so at your OWN risk*

3 Comments on “Thoughts On Making Gifts”

  1. E-bike says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: ihavetriedit.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/thoughts-on-making-gifts/ […]…

  2. veghotpot says:

    “Will you actually finish the gift” This made me laugh because in the summer I had so many ideas for christmas gifts and now it’s less than a month to go and I haven’t even started!! I don’t know if I will get half of them done so I should have started earlier! x


Leave a Reply

