Swiffer Product Cost

What are these handy products REALLY costing you?!  Here’s the scoop.

a) If you use 1 dry swiffer wipe per week you will spend $16.12/year

Here’s the math.

I looked up swiffer wipes, as I don’t know their price at the top of my head.  I found this. $5 for 16 count.  $5 (the price of the box) / 16 (the number of swiffer wipes)=$.31 (approximately.  I rounded down).  Each wipe is therefore $.31 x 52 (the number of weeks in a year)= $16.12. Not too bad.  But I usually used 2-3 wipes a pop.

b) If you use 1 wet swiffer pad per week you will spend $17.16 /year.

Here’s the math

7.97 (the cost of a 24 ct. box from Wal-mart)/24 (the number of wipes in the box)=.33/wipe.  .33 x 52 (weeks in a year)=17.16

c) If you use 1 swiffer duster per week you will spend $45.24/year.

Here’s the math

I found that swiffer dusters cost $13.99 for a package of 16, here

$13.99 (cost of package)/16 (number of dusters)=.87/duster x52 (number of weeks in a year)= $45.24

d) If you use one wet swiffer pad, swiffer duster and swiffer wipe per week you will spend $78.50/year.

I use microfiber cloths I received as wedding gifts.  They work just as well. See the pictures below if you don’t believe me.  (Yes, I clean my floors often.  This picture was taken after I had not swiffered for two days). I did see some microfiber cloths at Wal-Mart for approximately $4.  Consider switching your cleaning products.  It could save you a lot of money!

*This blog reflects the opinion of the author. Please understand that all information or opinions gleaned from this blog are done so at your OWN risk*

6 Comments on “Swiffer Product Cost”

  1. thenouveaupoor says:

    I loved the math. It shows how much we spend without really thinking about it. I use my worn-out sports socks to clean the floors. With a little cutting, they fit over the duster well and do a great job.

  2. Krista says:

    I’ve tried the swiffer variations, but with 2 kids, 2 cats and a dog, they just can’t keep up with the hair and dust! It’s old-fashioned sweeping for us, although the giant dustmop (like you see them using on basketball courts) seems to work pretty well for us!

  3. calilee says:

    Love the idea of the blog! I use Martha Stewart’s favorite method. Simply place a terry cloth towel at the end of a mop handle (the kind that are meant to take those noodley-looking mops – you know which kind I mean?). Use vinegar and water for mopping (on hot days you don’t even need to dry). The towels can be tossed in the wash and re-used over and over! I think this might cost less than a penny per cleaning! 🙂

  4. It all adds up doesn’t it? I use a crocheted swiffer cover. It’s a great way to use up little pieces of yarn. And I also end up using less water and floor cleaner, because I just mix a little cleaner with some water in a spray bottle and spray the floor as I clean.


Leave a Reply

