Love What You Have

Yesterday I went to Bed, Bath and Beyond to pick out a Christmas present for myself (my parents send me cash and I pick out what I want). I fell in love with a comforter and all the frivolous items that go with the aforementioned bed covering. I told myself that the one I currently have is “not the right color” and that “I need a bed skirt.” I looked at the price of the new comforter set and realized that I should just learn to love what I have.  Thus, I left the store empty-handed.

I think this applies to many areas in my life

1) Clothes

2) Home goods

3) Home

4) Shoes

Learn to love what you have (or LIVE with what you have). You will save money….and someday you maybe able to buy the comforter/shirt/house/whatever of your dreams.

7 Comments on “Love What You Have”

  1. Angela says:

    This is something I struggle with. It’s like I get bored with what I have or just get tired of looking at it! Because of a lack of $$ I’ve learned to just let those feelings pass (they do eventually) and I get over it. I think there’s always going to be something that we long for….it’s just in our blood. But you are right, eventually you’ll save enough money to get the things you want. It just takes a little time. I don’t know about you, but I can be pretty impatient!

  2. You correctly identified the want instead of the need. (I need a bedskirt.) I use a three rule for want/need: Before I buy something I have to have three reasons to spend the money, and “I want that” cannot be one of the reasons. Without blinking I can usually come up with two, but the third is the hardest. It has saved me oodles of money I would have thrown away.

    Thought you might like to know you were on my mind for tonight’s post… http://mommasmoneymatters.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/secret-blogger-award/

    Red.

  3. What did you end up buying? I’m very curious.

  4. Lucero says:

    So true! Why is it that nobody ever seems to be happy with what they have? This is something I’m working on trying to get better at. My weakness is home decorating stuff. There’s always something that I would like to change. One thing I’ve tried that helps is to stop ‘shopping’ – cancel my decorating magazines, stay away from home goods stores, that sort of thing. It helps me.

    Good post! 🙂


Leave a Reply

