A Calorie Counter

Did you eat one too many cookies at Grandma’s house this Christmas season?  Want to track your calorie consumption and exercise minutes for free?  Try SparkPeople.  I recently started using this site.  Here’s why I love it:

1)  It counts fat grams, carbohydrate and protein amounts.  I’ve always watched my caloric intake, but never know if I eat enough protein or etc.  Now I know down to the exact gram.

2)  It tallies water consumption.

3)  It spurs me to stay on the treadmill longer.   Knowing that I have to track my exercise minutes motivates me to run longer.

4) It is easy to use.

Here’s to a healthy New Year!  Hopefully this post will help you stick to your New Year Resolutions!

*I was not paid to advertise for SparkPeople.  I just really like their website!

4 Comments on “A Calorie Counter”

  1. Kelly says:

    Love it! I’m a big fan of tracking what I eat, which makes it so helpful to see where you’re at with calories, fat, etc. Plus then I think ahead of time before eating something because then I have to track it. I love daily burn which I bet is similar. Happy New Year!

  2. ihavetriedit says:

    It really does help to track what you are eating. It’s also easy with a website. I had been using the pen and paper method until I discovered SparkPeople. Now I just search for the food and it calculates the calories for me.

  3. I’m using My Food Diary.com, but I have to pay for it, so I’m interested in SparkPeople. I looked at their website, but I couldn’t find a demo or example to see what they’re tracking. Also, are common foods are in their database or do I have to look up everything and enter the nutritional info?

    • ihavetriedit says:

      Since the website is free, it may not be as good as the one you are using. I think it works well, though. SparkPeople allows you to search a list of common foods that people have entered. I usually find what I’m looking for or something very similar. So far I have not had to enter any of my own nutritional info. That being said, I have not been using site very long. I’m also kind of a boring eater:) As for what it tracks…calories, fat, carb and protein grams. I hope this helps!


Leave a Reply

