Organized in 2012

I’m pretty sure I resolve to become “an organized person” every year.  Obviously, I continually fail this resolution.  This is because my goal has always been too broad. Thus, I can never tell if I’ve actually accomplished anything when I review my life every January.  Red, from Mamma’s Money Matters, came up with a great solution.  Write a 2012 to-do list.  She suggests recording 100 things you want to accomplish over a years time (preferably small, measurable actions). Then cross out each completed step on the list. Next January all your hard work will be recorded and the list will motivate you throughout the entire year.  This idea excited me, so I am trying it.  Here’s a few things I plan to accomplish:

1) Read 1 classic novel per month.

2) Save an extra $20 per month.

3) Organize multiple nooks and crannies in my home.

Happy To-Do Listing, folks!

 

 

10 Comments on “Organized in 2012”

  1. Nick says:

    Great goals! May I suggest putting the $20 on auto-transfer? It’s a great way to make it happen intentionally! I try and increase my saving and investing auto-transfers by a small percentage every 6 months or year. Setting a low amount each month and slowly increasing it makes it pretty painless.

    By the way, I really like your blog. I discovered it after a link over. I hope you enjoy SAFTM, too 🙂

    • ihavetriedit says:

      That is a good idea. I’m actually saving the money from my personal entertainment fund and don’t plan to tell my husband about this until I hand him the money next January 1st. (Hopefully, he does not read this comment:) So, it’s not only a goal, but a gift of sorts as well!
      I REALLY like your blog and have definitely posted links to it. I especially like the line “Step Away From The Mall.” Very motivating and easy to remember!

      • Nick says:

        That’s great. Well, I’m sure even if he reads the comment he’ll still be psyched. My guess is you crush it and end up saving even more than the $20 extra.

        And very nice to hear. Yeah, I wanted to make sure that if you only remembered the name of the blog it would get you 80% of the way to great finances…

      • Nick says:

        Thanks for the feedback on commenting at SAFTM… I’m probably the least tech-savvy blogger out there. But I’ll definitely check into it. I very much appreciate you checking out what I have to say and at least trying to join the conversation! 🙂

  2. I love your goals! I particularly like the read a classic novel every month. I have always wanted to do that as well, but my dedication always falls short.

  3. Red says:

    The classic a month is actually 12 goals in the big list! Remember, eat the elephant!

    I added a new one this year. When the mortgage is due, instead of my usual over-payment (to principal only), I have added an additional $15. This will cut off another payment each year. (12x$15=$170 to principal only). By paying a little extra each month, I have already cut four years off of the mortgage.

    Red.

  4. sheerglitz says:

    Hi pretty lady! Love this post, especially the reading part. (As Stephen King said, if you don’t read, you don’t have the tools to write).

    I wanted to ask- did you get your Clarisonic from Santa?? 🙂


Leave a Reply

