Saving Money With Homemade Laundry Soap Detergent

This blog could not be complete without a recipe for homemade laundry soap detergent. I won’t pretend I was the clever one that came up with it, so here is a link to the source!

This is the recipe I use:

* 1 bar of shaved soap (you can use Ivory, Zote or Fels-Naptha). I use a cheese grater. My sister dumps the shavings into a food processor after she grates it. Whatever floats your boat.

* 1 cup Washing Soda

* 1 cup Borax

Thoroughly stir together for 5 minutes! Only 1 TBSP needed per load!

Making your own detergent is quick and painless. It also spares some benjamins. I think it cleans well, also.

According to the writer of this recipe, one will save $0.16 per load. See his calculations HERE. $0.16 per load doesn’t sound like a lot, but if you wash 2 loads a day you will save $116 over the course of a year. That’s like a new pair of boots!

9 Comments on “Saving Money With Homemade Laundry Soap Detergent”

  1. Thanks for the 411! Let us know how it works for you. The dishwasher equivalent of this that we use is one part borax and one part baking soda and then 2 TBSP per load. FYI, it does a good job, saves money but does not rinse like Cascade.

    • ihavetriedit says:

      Have you tried putting vinegar in the bottom of your dishwasher half-way through the cycle? I used to have a streaky dish problem until I tried that…Now all my dishes are super clear. It worked better than ANY commercial rinsing agent I tried.

      • Lindsay says:

        I love the vinegar tip. Definitely going to try it.

        I personally don’t love using homemade laundry detergent. I’ve tried it, but with my HE washing machine, it “gunks” up the intake and has actually caused our drain to back up. Maybe different types of washing machines handle this better.

      • ihavetriedit says:

        Lindsay,
        Thanks for stopping by! I have heard good and bad reviews for homemade laundry detergent. I don’t have a HE washer…maybe that makes a difference. I also rotate between homemade and store bought.

  2. patsquared2 says:

    A whole lot easier than I thought it would be. I think laundry is a big ticket item so I actually did a post on how to save $ just by changing how much detergent you use.
    http://dottiedomestic.com/2011/12/29/cheap-thrills-or-how-to-wash-for-less/

  3. patsquared2 says:

    Thanks for the kind words. I think I write to keep me sane! I used to be a high powered executive. Laid off and having cleaned the house with a tooth brush on my hands and knees….I needed to find something else to do. Or so said my husband! Since I love writing, I just started and haven’t looked back yet. Wrote a middle grade novel, too but hard to find a publisher. Check it out if you have time, like mysteries and horses and liked Nancy Drew! It was great fun to write. http://www.booklocker.com/books/5877.html

  4. Sarra says:

    I use coupons and frequently find laundry soap anywhere from free to max $.07 a load (and that is for Tide). But I stock up free to $.05 a load. I have Wisk, All with oxi, Sun, Fab, and Tide. You have to only use it on sales and with the high value coupons. Plus I email and write manufacturer’s and get free coupons for laundry detergent as well.

  5. OMG This is good! Thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

