Gym Etiquette

Wondering what to do at the gym? Good! Exercise away. Just don’t commit any of the following indiscretions listed below! I’ve witnessed (or endured) some less than polite actions recently. Some cause head scratching and others teeth clenching/tongue biting. Here we go folks:

Head Scratchers

1) Is it okay to choose a cardio machine located directly next to a stranger when there is an identical unused piece of equipment located elsewhere? Personally, I like a little space. Apparently, others like to cozy right up to fellow-exercisers…hmm. Maybe they are racing me?

2) Can you brag about leg pressing an enormous amount of weight when you only bend your knees two inches? I would have to say “NO!” Although, I chuckle when I see people do this. I don’t find it amusing when these people don’t bother to put their weights away after they finish their “leg-press,” though.

Teeth Clencher

1) Is it inconsiderate to save equipment with a towel or water bottle for long periods of time? I think it is! The other day someone ran up to me and said “I still have three sets left on that cable.” I figured he was finished because he had vacated the machine. Apparently, not! I wanted to retort, “Well, I only have two.” I didn’t though ๐Ÿ™‚

All that being said. Please exercise. It is an investment in your health and financial well-being. Just be polite!

Have you tolerated any rude behavior at the gym? I’d love to hear about it!

8 Comments on “Gym Etiquette”

  1. I’ve noticed similar things at the gym. Ours has a track and people just walk in front of the walkers, joggers and runners not paying attention. I find it both annoying and dangerous! Especially infront of the extremely fast runners.

    The excessive saving of or signing out of equipment I’ve noticed too. Or in my opinion the even worse ‘I signed out machine 3 but am using machine 5’ thus disrupting multiple people.

    And one of my big peeves? Don’t have your headphones so loud that everyone around you has to listen to your music. Either turn them down or invest in headphones that keep your sound to you!

  2. As far as the cardio goes, I look for a treadmill under an overhead fan. Sometimes there are people around sometimes not. But its not to cozy up because I am going to end up sweating…bad. If you are doing the cardio at a good pace they might be trying to impress you, or race you. I’m with you on #2, if you are not doing the exercise right you are cheating and might as well just lower the weights.

    And it is inconsiderate to save equipment for a long time. If you waited a long time for it, and someone leaves, they need to weight or find a similar piece of equipment. At the very least they can ‘work in’ or share the apparatus.

    My favorite peeve is the guy trying to do dips and he is doing more of a crunch than a dip as he is not bending his elbows. But you can’t tell him he’s wrong as he pushes out 10 of these what-ever-they-are exercises.

    Way to stay healthy! Its the only body we’ll ever get!

  3. ihavetriedit says:

    hmmm…I see the overhead fan point. Sometimes I stay away from certain treadmills because they are squeaky, but there are STILL lots of isolated treadmills to choose from.

    I will admit that I do secretly race whoever steps on the machine next to me and this does make me run faster. I hate being the slow one!

    As for the crunch/dip thing. I see bad form ALL OF THE TIME. REALLY bad form. I’ve thought about telling some people, but figured this would be considered rude. I just don’t want anyone to hurt themselves!

  4. Same here, I tell them if it looks dangerous. Like how some people don’t cripple themselves doing squats in the form they are in? You have to step in!

  5. Clara Abbas says:

    Love it! This is intense! Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Nick says:

    I was a big anti-social gymgoer for a while (I’ve since started cross-fit, where it’s not an issue). I’d try and get in and out within 1/2 hour by not resting in between sets, so when people would talk with me I’d try and end the conversation quickly by offering to grab coffee after or make some other plans. But even that didn’t work really well. I found that headphones (even if off) really cut down on people starting conversations. Works well for women trying to avoid men hitting on them, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    But I think grunting is my biggest pet peeve. Really annoying…


Leave a Reply

