How Is the New Year Treating Your Resolutions?

Yesterday, I noticed the gym was emptier than last week. Some people must have given up on their resolutions already. Wow. It only took 7 days.

I will admit that there are some resolutions I posted on this blog that I’d like to kick to the curb. For example, I decided to save $20 of MY personal spending money every month. There’s a billion things I would love to do with that measly sum of money.

If I had not resolved to save it, I would buy a new shirt or some snazzy organizational bins. I’d sample a few tasty drinks from Starbucks or a bottle of wine. Yet, what would those purchases leave me with at the end of the year? Nothing. So, I’m sticking with my promise to save….even if Target, the Mall and other sneaky businesses do entice me on a daily basis. Next year, I will have an extra $240 in my pocket. I know that is not a lot, but it’s better than nothing!

Sometimes, I need some inspiration to save. I find that reading other money-saving blogs encourage me to quit spending money. Here is a link to a blog I recently found, down$withdebt. Happy reading!

10 Comments on “How Is the New Year Treating Your Resolutions?”

  1. patsquared2 says:

    It’s lonely to exercise by yourself. I know. I live in the middle of nowhere and no one lives near me to walk with…but stick to it. BTW I LOVE down$withdebt. Subscribing. Thanks for the rec.

  2. I tried (hope) to offer some inspiration to save in my blog today. It is something I am passionate about. And it is just perfect for you and your family I think.

    I like an emptier gym, no more waiting for equipment!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Thanks for the mention! I appreciate it.

    I made 5 major goals for 2012, and so far only one of them is going well. Thanks for the reminder that those little things do add up. I know I frequently start to question whether the work is worth it, but I know it will be worth it when it’s all said and done!

  4. fancypantshansen says:

    Hi, just wanted to pop in and tell you I’m passing the “Versatile Blog Award” to you, my blogging friend!

    http://frugalfancypants.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/the-christmas-break-that-almost-killed-my-blog/

  5. People are already quitting the gym? Sweet! I mean that sucks for them, but I’ve been working at out home since the new year began because the gym has been so crowded.


Leave a Reply

