Mini Kitchen Hamper

A few months ago, I quit using paper towels.  Due to this fact, I started accumulating dirty rags at the bottom of my staircase.  (My laundry room is upstairs and the kitchen is on the first level.)   So, today I spent the rest of my Christmas gift money on this cute little magazine holder.  I call it my mini kitchen hamper because that’s what I re-purposed it to be.  It cost $16 at Target, which is probably what I used to spend at Costco for a large pack of paper towels.  I like this mini-hamper WAY better and definitely don’t miss spending cash on paper just thrown in the trash.  Do you think it’s crazy I don’t use paper towels, anymore?  I know a lot of people do!  Tell me what you think.

14 Comments on “Mini Kitchen Hamper”

  1. Nicole says:

    I say good for you! I could never do it…maybe before kids, I don’t know. But probably not.

    We do use cloth napkins a lot of the time, though! And it doesn’t annoy me in the least to wash those and fold them up. I just have a big stack, and when we get through them if laundry isn’t done, oh well…it’s only a couple of days until it’s replenished. Still better for the environment and our pocketbook overall!

    • patsquared2 says:

      I use cloth napkins too and love them, so civilized. I haunt local thrift shops and get sets of 6 (sometimes up to 12) beautiful linen and patterned ones for $3 or $4.

    • ihavetriedit says:

      I don’t even bother folding my rags! I would never be able to go paper-towel free if I had to do that! I just stack them and put them in the cupboard.

  2. patsquared2 says:

    I love this idea! And will be investing in one, myself!! I quit about 3 years ago and I have to say the two biggest problems – the towels and cloths on the floor waiting from transport to the laundry room on the next floor down and…my husband. We are down to using about 6 rolls of paper towels a year. We used to use one every week or so. I think he actually heard me the 9th time I gave the Brazilian rain forest lecture and then slacked off. We only use them for microwaving bacon (from a local, organic farmer) and cleaning up after sick pups and my chicken. Last chicken standing in in my office right now. I can’t leave her out when the temp ducks below 20 and she really isn’t house trained..

  3. sheerglitz says:

    i need one of these, my dish towels are in a pile on the floor!

  4. I stopped using paper towels for most things several years back. At first I took the roll of papertowel and hid it in the cupboard to train us not to just grab for it anymore. about 6 or 9 mo after hubs, the kids & I got used to using washcloths for things I put the papertowel back on the counter. Now it takes me about 2 months to go through a roll. I still use it for really nasty messes (think dog sick) but the rest of the time we use washcloths.

    Mine pile up in the corner of the kitchen. I love the idea of a little hamper, just not sure where I’d put one that wouldn’t interfere with opening one of the cabinets. . . Hmmm. . . you’ve got me thinking.

    • ihavetriedit says:

      I thought about putting mine on the counter…but decided to put it on the steps which are right by my kitchen. I’m loving it!

      I use old cut up t-shirts for rags…classy, right?! I don’t bother folding them. I’m also going to start writing B for Bathroom and K for Kitchen on them…

  5. I do use paper towels, but sparingly. If it’s just water that’s spilled I use a rag, but for yuckier messes I use paper towels. My husband used to dry his hands with a big wad of paper towels. It drove me insane! But now we keep the paper towels under the sink and it’s really decreased on how much we use them. Out of sight out of mind!
    I wrote a post awhile back about using less paper towels:
    http://purposelyfrugal.com/2011/03/25/how-to-use-fewer-paper-towels/#.TxBF88AxBMk
    But you’ve got me beat in that you don’t use any! 🙂

    • ihavetriedit says:

      I do have some left over paper towel rolls in my garage. I’m sure I’ll pull them out if I ever have to clean up a gross mess…

      I used to be like your husband until a few months ago. I used a paper towel for EVERYTHING!

  6. We use rags for everything. I have a separate pile of the particularly stained ones that I use for dirtier messes and cleaning. Then the clean dish towels that hang out in the kitchen and people actually see. We haven’t bought paper towels in a long time and I like it. There are only about 1,245,575,575 other things I can waste money on.

  7. Thanks for comment in my blog. I like your blog, so practical.


Leave a Reply

