Hired…

I recently wrote about my unemployment frustrations.   I’m happy to share that I was recently offered a full-time job and I accepted!  This unemployment era (this is what I have nicknamed it) of my life  has taught me a lot about saving money.  I will continue to apply these principles to my life, but I’m sure I will look for CONVENIENT ways to cut down costs while working.  Does anyone have any suggestions?!   I’d love to hear them!

9 Comments on “Hired…”

  1. Congrats! One thing I like to stretching the dollar is making crock pot meals. Usually I can squeeze 2 meals out of one crock pot recipe and I can usually use cheaper cuts of meat. 🙂

  2. Nick says:

    Great to hear! Congratulations. My biggest cost was lunch for a while. I’ve been cooking for the week on Sunday and that’s helped me save a ton of money on lunches – especially in NYC where you’re looking at $6.50 minimum for even a simple salad.

  3. Angela says:

    YAY!! Congrats on the new job! Hope all goes well! 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your new job!! Show ’em what you got! As far as saving money…pack your lunch. You can pack nutrition or small portions, whatever you want and save the money from eating out. Big congrats again!

  5. keepitneat says:

    Congrats on the new job! Does your new job have a coffee machine and fridge? Store your favorite creamer in there and DIY your morning brew – it sounds so obvious but it’s amazing how much money people spend on coffee. I think I read the average American spends upwards of $2k at coffee shops annually. Crazy!

    Packing lunch is another good one. I find it tough to find the time to do it at night though so I pack breakfast and a ton of snacks, then I try to find an inexpensive sandwich/salad spot to supplement.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

