The Crock Pot is My New Best Friend

I shared my exciting job news in my last post.  While I’m ecstatic to finally be bringing home a pay check, I’m still committed to saving money.  I do not want to start spending frivolously just because my husband and I will be making more.  Thus, I’ve decided the Crock Pot is my new best friend.  It cooks while I’m away, makes plenty of food for left-overs and does not require expensive ingredients!  Perfect!  This week I’m going to cook up some Festive Black Bean Soup. It looks super tasty, healthy and not to mention easy on the wallet. Take a peek!

10 Comments on “The Crock Pot is My New Best Friend”

  1. Nick says:

    One of the most underrated appliances ever, IMO.

    By the way, have you considered dedicating your new salary to debt or savings/investment and continuing to live as if you were still unemployed?

    It’s a bit extreme (some people do it in part), but one of very few silver linings to sacrificing during unemployment is the ability to save even more when you get a new gig by not bumping up spending…

    I’d be interested in seeing your perspective as you transition. Congrats again on the new gig.

  2. Congratulations on the job! I really like the comment about putting your salary toward debt if you can (and funding future college costs). If you can set it up so you never handle the money through automatic deposit and payments, it’s easier. Another idea for cooking might be to make meals on the weekends for the coming week. That way, you avoid the temptation to eat out or buy convenience foods.

  3. I am a huge fan of my crock pots! Even when I am home all day I find myself throwing something in the crockpot instead of standing of the stove and trying to get supper on the table when I need to be focusing on something else.

    Congratulations on the new job!!!

  4. I like what Nick said too, I think of the word ‘interest’ as a 4 letter word. Hate it. It seems like you may feel the same. I hope you can live with less financial cares with the new job but paying down debt is huge. So is the freedom that comes from eliminating it. ~and the awesome credit rating you get!

    We do the crock pot ideas to save time too, like if we are both getting home late from work and want to eat right away. But you can do other things in them like desserts too.

    How is your new job going?

  5. To make the best crockpot soup recipes, it is important to follow the recipe closely. With a lot of crockpot recipes, you simply throw everything in, stir it, and leave…soup recipes

  6. Freedom, by the way says:

    Congrats on the job!
    I love my crockpot. I do not enjoy cooking/meal planning, but needs must esp. when you have kids that need well-balanced meals. A crockpot lets me “get it out of the way” early.
    Not to be bold, but here’s an easy crockpot recipe we all adore:

    2 lbs. pork tenderloin (more is o.k. there’s a lot of sauce)
    1 16 oz. whole cranberry sauce
    3 TBS lemon juice
    4 TBS dijon mustard
    3 TBS brown sugar

    Mix all ingrediants except port, spread sauce ingrediants on pork tenderloin in crockpot. Cook on low 8-10 hours or high 4-5 hours. Delicious with mashed potatoes (the sauce is awesome gravy) The pork just pulls apart–great on the plate or in sandwiches.

  7. […] how I raved about the crock pot a couple of posts ago? Well, last night I decided to make Festive Black Bean Soup. Guess who forgot […]


Leave a Reply

