Homemade Wrinkle Releaser

I have to iron all of my husbands shirts. I disdain this task. I’m really not that good at ironing. I used to buy Downy’s Wrinkle Releaser to help with quick touch-ups. My sister informed me that you could make your own! Here’s the recipe:

2 cups water (distilled is best, but I use tap water)

2/3 cup liquid fabric softener

A few drops of rubbing alcohol

Pour in spray bottle (I use my old Downy bottle) and shake well! Test on inconspicuous area of clothing before spraying entire garment.

Here is a roughly estimated cost break-down.
1 33.8 fluid ounce bottle of downy wrinkle releaser costs approximately $9.99 according to drugstore.com I used the cheapest fabric softener I could find, Cuddle Soft. I bought a 60 fluid oz bottle for UNDER five dollars in August. It’s now November. I still have a lot of it left. Believe me, I do a LOT of ironing and de-wrinkling. I love this money-saving recipe!

You can also make your own “febreeze” and save. Go HERE
*This blog reflects the opinion of the author. Please understand that all information or opinions gleaned from this blog are done so at your OWN risk*


10 Comments on “Homemade Wrinkle Releaser”

  1. Army Amy says:

    Imterruble at ironing! Sounds like this would make it much more palatable! Cool tip!*

  2. Mrs. Weber says:

    LOVE this. I’m totally going to try it, because I too, HATE ironing!

    Thanks for the link love, too 🙂

    • ihavetriedit says:

      No, prob for the link love! I don’t know if you have ever used wrinkle releaser….it’ s not an ironing substitute. I usually spray it on my hubbies shirts AFTER I’ve ironed them 3 times and STILL can’t get the last few pesky wrinkles out…It works well for that 🙂

  3. This sounds perfect for me, I usually just spray plain water on stuff and shake, shake, shake! Thanks! 🙂

    • ihavetriedit says:

      I’ve tried that trick, too. I didn’t know what I was agreeing to when I said I would do the ironing for our household! Wrinkle Releaser helps..but the iron is still a necessary evil! Thanks for commenting!

  4. I was examining some of your content on this website and I think this web site is really instructive! Continue putting up.

  5. My friend advised me to take all my wrinkled laundry, dampen a towel, and throw them all in the dryer together for about 5 minutes. Then hang dry. I hate ironing! But I’m also not wife of the year, because I haven’t even tried the dryer/damp towel method on my hubbies poor wrinkled work pants…

  6. […] Homemade products… Everything from bread… to liquid soap… to Febreeze… and liquid laundry detergent… etc, etc. I can go on forever! We use homemade cleaning […]

  7. Cusackophile@hotmail.com says:

    I advise you to tell your husband to de-wrinkle his own shirts. Then – poof! You don’t have a problem anymore.

  8. Dermarose says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!


Leave a comment