How To Hang A Sweater

I abhor ironing (click HERE for wrinkle releaser recipe).  I also do not like donning a sweater with funny bumps on the shoulders formed from plastic clothes hangers.  I needed a sweater storage solution. My sister came to the rescue and taught me how to hang my sweater correctly.   My fall fashion apparel is no longer wrinkly or sporting a shoulder goiter (my junior high friends always referred to the bump as a goiter…it stuck with me).  Hanging my sweaters correctly has increased their longevity which therefore decreases my clothing bills.  It’s a win-win situation.

1) Start by folding sweater in half

2) Place hanger under the arm as pictured

2) Place clothes hanger under the arm as pictured

3) Fold bottom half of sweater over the hanger

3) Fold bottom half of sweater over hanger

4) Do the same with the sleeves

5) Tuck sleeve under bottom portion of hanger

6) Hang and enjoy a wrinkle/goiter free sweater!

*My sister learned this technique from Rachel Coleman


7 Comments on “How To Hang A Sweater”

  1. Angela says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I hate those darn shoulder bumps…

  2. Kristin says:

    This is fascinating! Will definitely have to give this a try.

  3. Thanks! The other day I was just looking for hangers that don’t leave shoulder bumps.

  4. Nick says:

    This might be the best thing ever written anywhere on the internet! It’s one of those things you never think to google for an answer so we just went with the “put them in a drawer” method, which holds about three sweaters per drawer. Score!

    • ihavetriedit says:

      Wow! That’s quite the compliment! Thank You! Glad I could help..(although, I give all credit to Rachel Coleman!)

      • Nick says:

        Well I’ve been pretty anti-sweater for the last 7 years because of how much space they took and, of course, the goiters if I tried to hang them. You have no idea how happy it made me to see the post. I’m literally going to go home and try and hang every sweater in the place! (Yes, I know, it’s Friday night and I’m looking forward to hanging sweaters…I’m about as cool as a broken fan. It’s all good. I’ve accepted it.)

        I’ll have to check out Rachel’s site then. Maybe she has tips to solve my other frustrations too…


Leave a comment